Menu
Back

English and Literacy

Our English department consists of a team of dynamic, enthusiastic and committed specialists.

We believe that English is the foundation of all other subjects and that it has huge social, political and moral implications with Literature enabling students to become better thinkers and more empathetic human beings. We provide an engaging, varied and enriching curriculum to inspire students and facilitate progress and achievement. The three main components of reading, writing and speaking and listening  are taught interdependently and students are expected to take responsibility for their own learning in class and at home, as individuals and as part of a team, in a collaborate environment of stimulating, interactive lessons and extra-curricular enrichment activities.

Aims Of The Subject

It is the SRWA English Department's vision that all students will:

  • foster a love of reading and read widely and independently
  • be confident readers who can read texts both analytically and critically
  • be able to express themselves succinctly, confidently, creatively and imaginatively in both written and spoken forms
  • become successful learners and responsible citizens

Staff Contacts

Charlotte Sale, Curriculum Director of English, csale@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Amy McCullough, Key Stage 3 Co-ordinator, amccullough@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Harry Scantlebury, Assistant Head and teacher of English, hscantlebury@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Kate Elton, teacher of English, kelton@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Martyn Russell, teacher of English, mrussell@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Jesse McGonigle, teacher of English, jmcgonigle@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Jane McLoughlin, teacher of English, jmcloughlin@srwa.woodard.co.uk

John Clayton, teacher of English, jclayton@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Stephanie Harris, teacher of English, sharris@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Enrichment

We offer a range of exciting opportunities to further enrich communication skills outside of lessons.

 

For Keystage 3, we run a weekly reading catch up club in the LRC, a weekly creative writing club, a book club and opportunities to become involved with debating and public speaking competitions. We also host an annual storyteller and visiting authors.

 

For Keystage 4, we run a weekly GCSE masterclass, a weekly extra revision class, an intervention breakfast club, a creative writing club and opportunities to become involved with debating and public speaking competitions. We also run theatre trips and a trip to the Poetry Live conference.

 

For Keystage 5, we run essay support sessions and theatre trips and a trip to The British Library as well as University courses and lectures.

Useful Links

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×