Menu
Back

Mathematics

Maths at SRWA is taught following a mastery scheme of work.

In a Maths lesson we will usually explore one key concept per lesson. We think carefully about how to break down a topic into a coherent set of steps, and we always use mathematically correct language and notation.

We extend students’ thinking beyond the level at which they are currently being taught. We make frequent use of mini-whiteboards, questioning by the teacher, and we push for comprehensive explanations from the students. We explore misconceptions, celebrate mistakes and use true/false to promote discussion.

We present the maths in unusual ways in order to emphasise connections. 

Aims Of The Subject

  • to build all students confidence in mathematics
  • to create problem-solvers for the future
  • to develop logical mathematicians
  • to ensure all students are successful and challenged to the appropriate level

Staff Contacts

Natasha Corrigan, Assistant Principal, ncorrigan@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Phil Daniell, Curriculum Director, pdaniell@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Emily Roche, Maths teacher, eroche@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Chris Anderson, Maths teacher, canderson@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Chris Clark, Maths teacher, cclark@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Theresa Jennings, Maths teacher, tjennings@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Ria Leggatt, Maths teacher, rleggatt@srwa.woodard.co.uk

David Keegan, Maths teacher, dkeegan@srwa.woodard.co.uk

John Ferguson, Maths teacher, jferguson@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Jane Everett, Curriculum Director of Sixth Form, jeverett@srwa.woodard.co.uk

Enrichment

There are lots of different activities that we offer in maths.


For Keystage 3:

Mathletes club run weekly after school

Weekly homework club

UKMT maths challenge during lessons


For keystage 4: 

Revision sessions weekly for year 11

Weekly homework club

UKMT maths challenge during lessons

Further maths GCSE offered to some students

Year 10 Mathsfeast competition yearly

Big Bang Fair trip STEM focus


For keystage 5:

Weekly homework club

Ricardo project

STEP programme weekly at Lancing College

Useful Links

www.hegartymaths.com

Our main website that we use to set homework for all year groups. Students can also use independently to revise and consolidate their learning.

www.ttrockstars.com/login

A timestable website mainly used with year 7 and 8 but all students can have access.

www.online.justmaths.co.uk 
Great website for GCSE exam questions and help videos for students. 

Username: SRWAStudent Password: SRWA

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×